Mrs. McGrumpy Butt

We all have those days when just one tiny little thing throws our whole decent mood out the window. Well that happened to me yesterday. My oldest was complaining about having to go to the grocery store with me and his brother and sister. 

“Dad is at work. I can’t leave you home by yourself. You have to come with me.”

As soon as we walk into the store he asks me how long it will take, then proceeds to ask me every couple of minutes. About halfway through our shopping expedition I stop and look at him.

“If you keep asking me, I’ll make sure we are here for another hour.” Well that put a stop to his questioning.

After spending a small fortune on groceries, that might only last a week, we head out to the car. The kids hop on in and leave me to put the groceries in the trunk. Not cool, but I don’t say anything…until I was finally able to get in the car and head home.

“When we get home you all need to shower for school tomorrow, but before you do that, I expect you to help me carry the groceries inside, especially since none of you helped me put them in the car. Got it?”

The journey home was a quiet one. The kids knew I was mad. They all helped carry the groceries inside. My daughter went to take a shower and the boys went back to their room. I told them to pick their dirty clothes up from the floor and to pick up their toys. As my oldest brought his laundry through the kitchen to put in the utility room he mumbled something about me being mean.

I snapped. I had been trying my best not to, but it couldn’t be helped. After that there was a long conversation about the give and take in our relationship, and how all the kids needed to start helping me out more around the house.

I kissed them all goodnight and told them that I loved them. This morning I apologized to my oldest for losing my cool, and he apologized for pulling attitude with me. It’s a happy ending.

There is one that is grumpier than I though, and that’s…yep, you guessed it, Grumpy Cat. This post is for my kids. They love Grumpy Cat memes so I’m posting some of their favorite ones. Sit back and enjoy =)

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

4 thoughts on “Mrs. McGrumpy Butt

  1. Beth Carter says:

    It’s normal to have days like that. I had tons of them when I was a single mom and working full time.

  2. The last one made me laugh. Hope you’re having a better day today!

  3. Chris Cannon says:

    We all have those days. Love the grumpy date.

  4. Chris Cannon says:

    cat…crumpy cat…grumpy cat… I cannot type today.

Leave a Reply

