McStubs Musings on The Voice

My hubby is not a fan of The Voice, or really any reality competition. So while the results show aired last night I was cooking dinner and waiting for Supernatural to come on. Obviously, since I didn’t watch it live, I didn’t vote for anyone and this is not a post to complain about the results.

I managed to watch the results show this morning as I was getting ready for work.

First off, for me, this show could have been narrowed down to 30 minutes. Just results, no need for all the musical performances. We had The Rascal Flatts, the three finalists from last season, and the bottom three performances. Lots of music jam packed into that one hour.

The first finalist to move on to the finale – Jake. Okay, I like the guy. He’s a cool kids, totally grounded, but…I don’t think he really should have been voted into the top 3. I would have picked Kristen over Jake. For me, Jake never really had a break out performance where I was blown away by his ability. It was always ‘Oh, well that was nice.’ Completely underwhelmed by him. BUT… good job all the same. He really has come a long way from last season and I was really pulling for him at the beginning of this season.

Second finalist to move on – Josh. We all knew this was coming, right? I mean, this guy has been kicking ass and taking names all season. Damn! You go boy! He deserves to be in the finale. Not much more to say about him.

That left Kristen, Kat, and Christina in the bottom 3, having to perform for the Instant Twitter Save.

In the midst of all this we had a slew of performances. 

The Rascal Flatts – I’m going to make enemies here, but I’m not a huge country fan. Not to say that I hate it. I do listen to country music on occasion and sometimes it’s awesome, other times…not so much. Their performance was good. I was able to listen/watch it without having to fast forward through it.

Jackie Lee (yes I know I spelled her name wrong) – I really liked this performance by J. she did a good job. Last season I could barely sit through her performances. It felt like she was constantly screaming at me. Last night’s performance was nice and scream free. The girls got skills.

Will Chamberlin – I really liked Will last season. I knew he wasn’t going to win, but I was so happy he made it into the top 3. That being said I wasn’t fond of his performance last night. I couldn’t understand what he was singing and some of his vocals sounded strained. I want to hear more from him, hopefully something…different. I ended up fast forwarding through the last minute of his song.

Tessanne Chin – Her song was good. At least I could understand what she was singing about. No doubt about it the girl can sing. I’ll have to hear more from her to find out whether I’ll buy her upcoming album or not.

And finally, the bottom 3 girls sang their hearts out for the Instant Twitter Save.

First up – Kristen. What can I say about this woman? She’s got a great voice, but I never really connected with her performances or her personality. Given the show runners didn’t really give you a chance to get to know her. She was constantly at a disadvantage in the exposure dept. I liked her voice, I just wish I had a better idea of who she is.

Second – Kat. Rock chick extraordinaire. I loved Kat! She always looks like she has fun on stage and is so full of life. She is such a cool chick. I want to know her in real life and hang out with her. She had a good performance.

Last – Christina. I have to admit, I’m a bit biased when it comes to Christina. I’ve been watching her covers on You Tube for the past year. She is a fantastic singer. She had an unfair advantage going into the Instant Twitter Save. Even though I thought she out performed Kat and Kristen with her final song. Does she scream on occasion? Yes, but nothing like Jackie Lee. The kneeling thing Christina does, also pulls me out of the performance. Other than that, she’s a great performer.

Christina went on to win the Instant Twitter Save. Again I feel she had an unfair advantage compared to Kat and Kristen. Did it seem fixed to me?…yes. Has The Voice become a popularity contest where teenyboppers vote for cutest, most handsome, the prettiest, or even the coaches…maybe. But honestly though, it’s a TV show. If we focused solely on ‘the voice’, it wouldn’t be a TV show, it would be a radio program. There wouldn’t be any famous judges to sway the votes. You wouldn’t know what each contestant looked like. All you would hear are the voices of the contestants and you would call your vote into a radio station.

I get why the show runners added the Instant Twitter Save. They want someone they can market that already has an enormous fan base. Easy sales! Christina Grimmie has that. She will be easy to market, already has a built in fanbase, the looks, and the ‘voice’.

That being said, I know there are a lot of people who are pissed about that instant save. That might hurt Christina in the finale. Some of her votes will probably go to Josh.

The top 3 going into the finale: Jake, Josh, and Christina

Who I think should have been in the top 3: Josh, Christina, and Kat…or Kristen instead of Jake.

Who is my pick to win?     Josh

 

Leave a Reply

