Big Easy Blog Tour

Hello Everyone,

This is my week to appear on the Big Easy Blog Tour. This is a tour of blogs from participating authors. We talk about our writing process in the hope of helping other aspiring writers with our method or experience.

The one who talked me into participating is VJ Schultz. Thanks for the invite VJ =)

VJ Schultz wanted to write books ever since she could read them by herself. Her latest book is a collection of romance short stories, UNDERCOVER LOVE & OTHER TALES. She enjoys writing in multiple genres including mystery, romance, and fantasy. She and her husband live in Missouri with three spoiled inside cats, one less-spoiled outside cat, and one happy parakeet. When she isn’t writing or teaching writing, she takes photos, reads, and does Tai Chi.  A member of Sisters in Crime, VJ is also a founding member of Sleuths’ Ink, a mystery and suspense writing group.

Now I was supposed to have three more authors to send you onto for next week, but alas no one volunteered or gave in to my constant harassment, so this branch could end with me OR you could hop over to the other author’s blogs that VJ invited. That would be my suggestion. She snagged a couple of great authors to follow her up…besides me, of course 😉

On With The Questions!

1.) What Am I Working On?

As some of you may know, I have 2 full length urban fantasy books out, City of the Gods: The Descendant and City of the Gods: The Betrayal. I’m currently working to promote the hell out of these books. I’m about halfway through writing the final book for the City of the Gods trilogy. I’m also working on my 1st kids book. It’s with the illustrator now. I’m hoping to have it out later this year. I also work on several short stories at once. My short stories are mostly romance. The two I have out right now are An Author’s Assistant and Lillian’s Christmas Surprise. Both short romances are priced at 99 cents…you know…just in case you want to check out my writing style…oh, and here is one of the covers…you know, just in case you were curious…

Image

2.) How Does My Work Differ From Others Of Its Genre?

I wanted to write a paranormal romance because I LOVE reading that genre, but there are sooooooo many out there. I wanted to write something different as well, that’s when the idea for City of the Gods popped into my head.There are no vampires or werewolves in my books. There is an angel…and a witch…and a warlock…and there are immortals, but you will have to read the book to find out how they became immortal. There is some actual history in my story as well. It’s based on a real city in Mexico and the mystery surrounding its collapse. There is a dash of romance in my books, but it’s secondary to the plot. No one undresses to their birthday suit and gets busy with the hot, equally naked male in a pyramid…yep, I just lost about half my readers right there. Sorry =(

Image

3.) Why Do I Write What I Do?

Because I love it…because it’s fun! I get to make up all sorts of outlandish scenarios for my characters to try to deal with and survive, ones that real people would turn and run from, screaming at the top of their lungs, ‘KEEP HER AWAY FROM ME!!!! SHE’S CRAZY!!!!’ Never mind that I’m holding an axe (a fake one, of course…though if they are running they probably don’t know that…hmm), running after them, shouting, ‘Aw, come on! Just let me see if this weapon trick could really work! I promise it won’t hurt…much!’ Good thing I have a hubby who likes to help me act out the fight scenes or I’d be sitting in jail right now, not typing this trying to help aspiring writers everywhere.

Image

4.) How Does My Writing Process Work?

It starts with me dragging my a$$ out of bed every morning at 6 am to get ready for my day job. As I shower, put my makeup on, do my hair, & get the kids ready for the day I daydream about how nice it would be to be a rich and famous best selling author, so I could stay at home in my pj’s all day and just write…skip to about 3 in the afternoon when all my work at my day job is accomplished and I can finally focus on my writing. I reread what I wrote the day before, change things if they need to be changed, and start writing. Sometimes I’m lucky and remember my ideas from just before I fell asleep the night before, other times…I’m not. Sometimes I take notes and then make sure to lose them so I have absolutely no recollection of what I was planning on writing. I like to challenge myself like that. And sometimes it works to my advantage, other times…not so much. I’m a plotter and pantser, both work for me. I try to get at least an hour of writing in everyday. In that hour, I can write anywhere from 1 to 1,000 words.

So, in summation, this is what you should have learned from this post…

 #1. Write, then rewrite the book. #2. Edit, edit, edit (For the love of all that is holy, please hire someone to do it for you and take their advice!) #3. Write your query & synopsis (This is the worst part for many authors) #4. Submit to agents and publishing houses. #5. Get never ending form rejection letters from agents and publishing houses. (Unless you’re a lucky bastard who gets an agent on the 1st go round)(Nope, not jealous…envious, maybe…) #6. KEEP WRITING!!! #7. Repeat steps 1-6 until you snag the agent/publishing house of your dreams or decide to self publish. #8. Promote the shiznit out of your new release! Then start this process all over again. Did you get all that from this post. Of course you did.

Image

 

Who comes after me for the Big Easy Blog Tour? No one, but here are a couple of posts not to miss…

Tierney James at http://ptierneyjames.blogspot.com

Tierney has been in education for over thirty years. She currently teaches World Geography for a nearby college. Besides serving as a Solar System Ambassador for NASA’s Jet Propulsion Lab and attending Space Camp for Educators, Tierney has traveled across the world. From the Great Wall of China to floating the Okavango Delta of Botswana, Africa, she ties her unique experiences into other writing projects such as the action thriller novel, An Unlikely Hero. Living on a Native American reservation and in a mining town for many years, fuels the kind of characters she never tires of creating. By taking readers into the depths of the earth, Tierney hopes her next novel, The Rescued Heart, will show the courage and dangers of loving a hard rock miner. 
Besides teaching and writing, Tierney enjoys gardening, reading and offering writing workshops. Other pursuits involve learning Hebrew and research, which sometimes has led to becoming certified with various weapons. 
There’s never a dull moment in Tierney’s life. And that is just the way she likes it.

AND…

Brandy Nacole at www.brandynacole.blogspot.com

Gemini Brandy Nacole is a writer of urban fantasy books. She is the author of the Shadow World series and the Spiritual Discord series published by Ponahakeola Press. A reader from a young age, Brandy has always loved folklore and stories of beings that go bump in the night.
Brandy lives in Arkansas with her husband, three never stopping kids, two snooty cats, two very lazy bearded dragons, and one mellow turtle. She is a member of the Ozark Romance Authors in Springfield, Missouri. Whenever she’s not reading or writing, Brandy is spending her time outdoors wheeling, hiking, playing amateur photographer, and enjoying a good laugh.www.brandynacole.com

Thanks for stopping by!

 

9 thoughts on “Big Easy Blog Tour

  1. Tierney James says:

    I don’t know how you do it all! You must have superpowers. I’m impressed.

    • clankids says:

      I wish! Besides superpowers (because everyone needs superpowers), I need minions. They can to all the mundane day to day activities like laundry, dishes, etc. That way I can go hang out with my family and write when I want to =)

  2. VJ Schultz says:

    Hi! I am so glad you agreed to participate in the Big Easy Blog Tour. I learned so much about you in your answers. What most intrigued me is the idea of seeing you experimenting with the fight scenes using fake weapons with your willing family. 🙂 Great blog.

    • clankids says:

      Thanks for inviting me. I had a blast writing it, even if I couldn’t find another blogger…or 3, to follow after me.

      Some of the scenes I like to write most are the fight scenes. My hubby is so awesome to help me with those. He is great support. He wants me to put out the best story possible and succeed as writer. You can’t ask for a better husband.

  3. I love your dream writing life. Wouldn’t that be nice?

  4. I love your ‘recipe for success’. Nothing worth accomplishing is ever easy. If it were, everybody would be a writer.

Leave a Reply

